Why I’ll Add That Book To My TBR

I have an extensive TBR. Doesn’t everyone?*

*cries*

Why can we not be immortal, yo? These dang human lives. It’s so troublesome. 

(My TBR will probably grow into a monster and eat me whole at this point but whatever man.)

*You mean, you DON’T have over a thousand books in your TBR? pfffffffffft.

Watercolor Streak

Because It’s YA And I Read Everything YA

OK BUT IF THIS IS MARKETED AS YA I’m probably going to read it, let’s be real. I have low standards for putting books on my TBR.

Hey guys, remember when I actually wanted more books to add to my tbr??

Image result for hahahahaha gif
this is me laughing but also screaming in agony

As for actually reading the books, well.. *laughs and runs away because I don’t want to answer that question*

Watercolor Streak

Because It’s By An Author I Know And Love (Who’s Unafraid to Step In*)

I want new books! By authors that I love! Remind me again why authors don’t become machines that just churn out books for us??** #rude

Like, if any of THESE authors publish anything it is officially gold to me and shall be accepted as currency.

  • Marissa Meyer
  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Rick Riordan
  • Suzanne Collins
  • Renee Ahdieh
  • Sarah J. Maas
  • Marie Rutkoski
  • Marie Lu (because SOMEONE pushed me to add her on)

But also one of my biggest fears is the book not being as good as the book that you have read. Because, then, you see, you will have lied to me.

Image result for this is why i have trust issues gif

*DID YOU SEE THAT REFERENCE. DID YOU SEE IT.

**Okay I’m just kidding I swear I LOVE YOU AUTHORS AND EVERYTHING YOU DO WE APPRECIATE YOU GUYS!!!!

Watercolor Streak

Because It’s A Mashup

If I see the phrase “Recommended for fans of (insert favorite author name here)” in the introduction then immediate click.

The only slight problem is the fact that THEY ARE USUALLY LYING.

Why are books always lying, huh? Why can’t you be truthful?

*Me pelting the books with questions*

Watercolor Streak

Because Everyone Else Did

*cough* *cough* No I am not talking about A Gentlemen’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

LETS BE HONEST. I MAKE 63.8% of my decisions based on other people’s. Apparently this is a psychological effect or something BUT LET US NOT GET INTO THAT.

The super hyped book is something everyone dreads reading… and yes, I am scared that it’s going to disappoint me but you know what? I SHALL BLAME THE INTERNET FOR MY PROBLEMS. #NoneOfThisIsMyFault

But also if everyone has promised me that the book is good I’M GOING TO RELY ON THEIR OPINIONS. I TRUST THE INTERNET. THE INTERNET NEVER LIES*.

Image result for if you jump i jump gif
INTENTIONAL GILMORE GIRLS GIF because #FANGIRL

I am a very independent human being and not clingy at all shhhhhHHHush.

*10/10 truth. Life advice. NO ONE EVER LIES ON THE INTERNET.

Watercolor Streak

Because I Like The Cover

Shushhhhh with the “don’t judge a book by its cover” because I feel like it’s a recognized thing in the bookish community that WE LOVE THE COVERS. DO WE NOT.

Anyways, yes, several times I have not been interested in the synopsis at all but I added the book to my TBR. But let’s not get into that now.

Me At You Guys:

Image result for don't judge me gif
And yes you guys are monkeys now. The government has been lying to us all.

But really, what is wrong with judging covers, hmm? It’s just appreciating art created by another source. #fact

Watercolor Streak

Because I Like The Synopsis

I’m going to pretend that it isn’t bad that this is not first on my list. 

Hahaha what do you mean I should make my own decisions? I do.

I choose between chicken and beef flavored ramen. Look at me adulting.

Things that I like seeing in synopsis’:

  • Royalty
  • Magic
  • Cute stuff
  • Food

And… that is all I can think of right now. Darn my brain farts (which have been occurring for the past hour that I have been writing this post HELP)

Watercolor Streak

Because There Are High Reviews

Once again, this is kind of part of the “Because Everyone Else Did” but I CARE ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE’S OPINIONS, OKAY?

Anyways, I probably will just look at the top five reviews and make a judgement based off of that?? And also the reviews of my friends. Because I TRUST THEIR JUDGEMENT. KIND OF.

Watercolor Streak

Because “Just In Case”

Because my biggest bookish fear IS LOSING THE KNOWLEDGE OF A BOOK.

Once I wanted to read a book BUT I COULDN’T FIND IT. BECAUSE IT WASN’T ON MY TBR. *screams*

And now if a synopsis is remotely interesting I immediately add it to my TBR! Because what if in the future I my reading preferences TOTALLY change and I want to read it again?? You gotta be prepared, you know.

But I have losing issues? Like I am deathly afraid of losing important things. I’m like “IT WILL BE GONE FOREVER” which I am deathly afraid of.

Did you know that I have a bunch of classics on my TBR even though I don’t even read classics. But, you know, SOME DAY. MAYBE.

Anyways, basically just add every book you ever see to your TBR and you will officially become me.

Watercolor Streak

So, anyways:

What are your reasons for adding a book to your TBR? Are they totally unreasonable? Or are you picky with your TBR?

 

71 Comments

  1. AGH I AM SO NOT A JUST IN CASE PERSON. You’re either a YES DEFINITELY I WANT TO READ THIS OR AT LEAST TRY IT OUT or a no not at all go away. No “maybeeeeeeee?” I will regret this. THAT DON’T JUDGE ME MONKEY GIF IS THE BEST THING EVER OMG I WILL USE IT IN ALL MY POSTS NOW.

    Yes cover love definitely. Also I WANT FOOD AND MAGIC AND ROYALTY IN SYNOPSISES TOO. And how come Marie Lu is not on that list of favorite authors??? Huh??? Hmm??? HMMMMMMM??? *whispers* And no you should not have made that reference because that is my *raises voice* FAVORITE SONG OF HAMILTON AND I WILL SCREAM IT AT YOU FOREVER.

    he’s constantly confusing confoundin’ the british henchmen evr’yone give it up for AMERICA’S FAVORITE FRENCH MAAAAAAAAAAAAN

    LAFAYETTE

    *cries because I have to stop*

    “Because everyone else did” <– me @ life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WELL YOU ARE LUCKy. YOUR TBR IS PROBABLY IN CHECK THEN. TEACH ME YOUR WAYS PLEASEEEEE.
      AND YES THE MONKEY GIF IS GREAT.

      ALL THE COVER LOVE. AND AGHHHH FOOD. FOOD IS GREAT.

      *hides* Shhhhh let’s pretend that I didn’t forget her I LOVE LEGEND.

      *whispers* I CONSTANTLY MAKE BAD CHOICES WHAT’S ONE MORE.

      I’M TAKING THIS HORSE BY THE REINS MAKING REDCOATS REDDER WITH BLOODSTAINS.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I AGREE AND RELATE TO EVERY SINGLE POINT YOU MADE ABOVE. LITERALLY YOU HIGHLIGHTED EVERY AND ANY REASON I ADD BOOKS TO MY TBR. THIS IS WHY IT IS SO ENDLESS AND LOOONNNNGGGGGG! I too fear forgetting a book and never finding it again. WHAT IF IT IS THE BOOK! THE BOOK! IF IT SEEMS POSSIBLE IT IS ADDED TO THE TBR! AWESOME POST!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally relate to all of these, my tbr list is sooo long because I do each and every one of these things. Also that Gilmore Girls reference was great, I LOVE that episode so much.
    This post was great!
    xx
    Em

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am picky. Super picky. A book doesn’t get added to my TBR unless I actually truly intend on making time to read it. Right now my ‘wishlist’ (which is my ‘tbr’ normal pile on Goodreads. My actual to-read pile is books I’m reading in the next week+) is at 276 books, and I regularly go through and winnow it down.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I feel like anyone with goodreads will relate to this on a whole new level LOL! I just can’t help but press “to-read” on every book I see that looks good!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is great – I can relate to this so much. I am a sucker for a pretty cover, and am definitely influenced by the hype around books (although I have a cut off point, where it all gets too much and I reject the book!!) I also am really weak with series. If I buy the first in a series, I feel compelled to buy the rest, even before reading the first one ☺️ This does not always pay off…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 😀 AND YES. Those pretty covers. The temptation.
      That does make sense. I probably have no cutoff point XD which is why my TBR is so huge. Seriously. It’s a real problem.

      And YES I KNOW RIGHT. Is it weird that I have a book that I absolutely hate but the cover is pretty??

      Liked by 1 person

  7. “because i like the cover” is definitely a big problem of mine! I mean, have you seen Claudia Gray’s Firebird series??! Like, dude, they’re gorgeous. (both inside and out, I might add) So that was when I stopped taking the “don’t judge the book by its cover” thing seriously 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hahaha I love this post so much – also, YES to Gilmore Girls, love that show so I definitely approve the GIF choice 😛
    I automatically add a book to my TBR if it’s from an author I love – .we have Marissa Meyer and Renee Ahdieh in common, yay! ❤ And I'm guilty when it comes to adding books because of the cover – I do it A LOT OF THE TIME ahah, it's bad and wrong and sometimes I barely even stop to read the full synopsis because the cover somehow captivates me ahah. This is bad.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 😀 And OMG we need to talk about Gilmore Girls I love the show so so so much.
      And YES I KNOW RIGHT?
      Marissa Meyer & Renee Ahdieh = my queens. But DEFINITELY CHECK OUT THE OTHER AUTHORS. THEY ARE GREAT TOO.

      And yes, I know right? IT’S A PROBLEM. WE NEED TO BE PUT INTO QUARANTINE??

      Thanks again! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

        1. YAY!! THE REVIVAL… GAH…
          I LOVE GILMORE GIRLS SO MUCH ❤ But I confess I've been avoiding the revival because my friend told me that it's really bad *hides* and are you talking about the Gilmore Girls original series ending because WHY DIDN'T WE GET MORE OR LORELAI AND LUKE WHAT EEEEEVEN.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Ahah I get it – well it’s not…like the rest of the series for sure, it feels a bit different and I was NOT okay with the revival’s ending. BUT YES I want more Lorelai and LUKEEEE.

            Liked by 1 person

  9. Yes yes yes, I agree with all of these!!! I definitely add a book to my TBR if it has super high reviews and like a 4.5+ rating on Goodreads! I’m like… OK SOLD 💅🏼
    Also the very hyped up books! I usually always add them to my TBR and either I never get around to them or I buy a book but I dread to read it *side eyes Six of Crows*
    Great post! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha 😀 honestly there are so many books that are on my TBR that I have borrowed from the library but I didn’t read them… whoops…
      READ SIX OF CROWS WHAT ARE YOU DOING.
      And if you’re not going to read Six of Crows go read the Grisha trilogy. RIGHT NOW. Like, the first 3 chapters and you’ll get hooked.
      Thank you!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I agree with so many of these! Definitely because it’s from my favorite author and it’s a mash-up (even though they’re usually lying to me, I completely ignore it), and if I like the synopsis! Those three are definitely the reasons why I’ll add a book to my TBR! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. THIS POST IS SO RELATABLE TO ME I CAN’T EVEN. I AM ALL OF THESE. And like adding it for the synopsis is super low on my list too. 😂 Usually it’s cover first = then pitch = then if everyone likes it = then oooh maybe I’ll read the synopsis.😂😂 BUT COVER LOVE IS A HUGE THING FOR ME. Also just … I want to read all the books?! I end up adding literally every YA book ever on Goodreads. I have no regrets. :’) My TBR is totally going to crush me. :’) :’)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ha ha – I completely agree with all of these. Sometimes I also add YA books to my TBR pile based on size too. If they are super short books I figure I can boost my goodreads challenge,although it also helps me find lots of new authors that way!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Good reasons. I’m the black sheep though 😀 reason “Because everyone else did” is the exact thing that makes me almost not read YA books 😀 I’m such a hipster kitty! Haha.

    But yeeees, high friend reviews or a good blurb, now that’s the stuff. I will admit to going for a pretty cover every now and then as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. HAHAHA YES THIS POST 😂❤️ I literally need to hear the words ‘YA’ and ‘contemporary’ or ‘fantasy’ AND I AM SOLD. It’s on the TBR. Also Goodreads and its darned ‘readers also liked’ thing at the side of each book’s page meaning when I add ONE book to my TBR I immediately have to add another 20 because they looked good and they were there?? (Cover judging IS MY LIFE) Also ever since I started blogging by TBR has inflated by like a million?? Because everyone keeps adding a so and so book on their TBR SO I MUST TOO. And also book recommendations?!? #deathoftheTBRcompletion OH and synopsis too haha though I end up forgetting it like two second later anyway? Oops but the DAMAGE WAS DONE. 😩 And ooh yes for authors I love!! There are definitely a list of authors whose books I WILL ALWAYS READ. We have so many in common, yasss I approve of your reading choices. 😂

    AND GO HAMILTON REFERENCE also I love your and May’s back and forth 🙌 Psh no I’m not a comment stalker 👀😂 Fabulous post Julianna!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. XD I KNOW RIGHT. And I KNOW RIGHT. WHY ARE THERE ALWAYS LIKE TWELVE BOOKS RECOMMENDED FOR ME *cries*

      And YESS I KNOW RIGHT. My TBR was probably like 50 books, max, but then BLOGGING AND GAHHHHHHH.

      Synopsissssss I feel like for some reason I’m pretty good at remembering synopsises (WHAT IS THE PLURAL OF THAT WORD)

      XD HAMILTON HAMILTON
      THANK YOU ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

Leave a comment