A Smol Recap of Every Month in 2018

Let’s first review my “year overview posting etc” and also it starts from February because I’m writing this in January and I don’t know how to make it show other months so let’s pretend January didn’t happen!

smol recap of 2018 post overview

You see, I was posting kind of normally during May, June, and July but in August I just…. faded out.

(I posted four times in January, by the way!)

And because I didn’t post, this post is going to be like. half of long as it should have been! < 3 < 3 wow I love my blogging self

div1.1

JANUARY

recap

  • And of course, in my recap, we open up this this amazing line:

january 2018 recap

  • hahaha I’m laughing intensely to mask the disappointment in myself
  • I love leaving myself wholesome and fond memories to look back on.
  • I changed my bookstagram theme (not the same one as my current one)
2018-02-01.png (603×603)
why was I proud of this
  • Ooh I made super super subtle sneaks of my coming revamp of the blog.
  • Aaaand there is nothing else interesting in that recap; why do you guys read my blog at all (don’t leave tho I appreciate you)

FEBRUARY

recap

  • THIS IS THE MONTH I REVAMPED MY BLOG AND I’M SO HAPPY WITH THE WAY THAT MY BLOG IS NOW AHHHHHH
  • I also started reading webtoons/webcomics and I’ve stopped marking them on Goodreads and rip my Goodreads challenge because now I just spend time on webtoons and not books
  • Hey!!! Look at this super eloquent review of one of the webtoons!

webtoon review bad

  • Wow. I was truly such a talented reviewer. I just :’) I’m so proud of myself
  • Apparently I left my house 5x to get Chipotle, and I never get Chipotle anymore so clearly my life has downgraded this is preposterous
  • Also Lunar New Year happened! the only time I get money *smiles fondly*

MARCH – APRIL

recap

  • Ooh I started playing lacrosse in this time span, which I’m planning to continue next year.
  • I went to eat at an Asian grocery/food court which was 11/10. would recommend. I FREAKING LOVE THE POKE BOWLS THERE
  • I…. started playing Fortnite…
  • TO BE FAIR, I actually played it like five times total because it would always lag so
  • (I actually did like it! But now everyone hates it and I feel kind of bad)
  • I watched Love, Simon which is clearly a huge and important milestone because IT’S AMAZING AND YOU ALL SHOULD WATCH IT
  • I started watching Kipper the Dog (a British children’s show) (I’m not even British lol) again and honestly?? I should go back to that hobby again. Watching children’s shows is so calming and wholesome.
  • Literally nothing happens in an episode except maybe Kipper loses a sock or they go to a hidden world in the sky or they find a cursed flashlight that will give them what they wish for. Wholesome :’)

MAY

recap

  • I started using my new profile picture (the one I have currently) and I am still pretty proud of it :’)
  • Although I feel like it’s too extra because my hair does not normally part that way… I am truly sorry for deceiving you all
  • I said that I was feeling more productive but tbh after that month my productivity just Left Me
  • AND I SAID THAT I EXERCISED A LOT but let’s be real I probably just went running like one time and was really proud of myself. I DON’T REMEMBER EXERCISING AT ALL IN MAY LOL

JUNE

recap

  • I went to BookCon and literally got so many books what the heck
  • I am still in awe of myself. I am a god. wow I am amazing and skilled
  • (I still haven’t read like. any of them tho)
  • (also it was really my sisters who did like 60% of the work retrieving books)
  • And one of the books I got from BookCon was Escaping From Houdini which I thought could be read separate from the first two books so uhhhhhh
  • I MADE A FREAKING 2017 GOODREADS YOUNG ADULT SURVEY* THAT TOOK ME OVER THREE HOURS and I got three responses so
  • clearly the payoff of that was manifold. 16/10 don’t regret at all
  • the trailer for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before released and in hindsight I didn’t like that movie so #awkward (I’m sorry)
  • Me and my sister read some books together (just one)** which was wholesome
  • I tried to kill a bug with a water gun in my bathroom which didn’t actully do anything but at least the water made it swoosh down the wall so clearly I’m a pro

*You can make me feel better by taking the questionnaire/survey now 

**When I tried reading another book (The Epic Crush of Genie Lo) with her she was forcing me to read it out loud to her?? Because apparently she doesn’t have the energy to read.

JULY

recap

  • My tbr for the next month was this:
old tbr
  • As it turned out, I only read one of those books.
  • Me and May were planning on hosting a reading challenge featuring IPOC and we… still haven’t figured that out yet. But I’m hoping that we can host it soon!
  • I finished Brooklyn Nine-Nine this month, one of the funniest and most amazing shows ever :’) my heart

AUGUST

SEPTEMBER

OCTOBER

NOVEMBER

DECEMBER

recap

  • I JUST REMEMBERED THAT I WAS GOING TO DO A HOLIDAY RECAP BUT MAYBE THAT’S NOT ENOUGH WORDS FOR ONE WHOLE POST SO I’LL JUST PUT IT HERE.
  • Anyways, I had a Secret Santa gift exchange with May, Ilsa, and Jackie and Jackie and I were each other’s Secret Santas! Jackie gave me a hardback of A Thousand Beginnings and Endings and the new paperback of Ruin and Rising which I’m so so excited for!! I got Jackie a paperback of Roomies (by Lauren _____ whatever the name is) and a hardback of Final Draft! Pics will probably come later! On Instagram!
  • A lot more happened, but I posted my recent hiatus recap so recently it’s probably redundant now?

tell me your thoughts 2

How was your 2018? Did you post often/consistently? Did you watch Brooklyn Nine-Nine? Do you like Chipotle (if you have one near you)? What did you get for holidays, if you celebrated?

 

25 Comments

  1. Ahh a secret santa exchange, that sounds so cool I’m so happy you did this, yay!! 😀
    LOVE SIMON WAS AMAZING, I need to re-watch it very very soon because it was just SO GREAT. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. this is a fantastic recap of the year!! woo!! I actually fully rely on my blog recaps to remember what I did in a year or else I’d get to the end of a year and people would be like, “What happened?!” And I am just: “I have no!!! idea!!”

    *self five for clearly having my life together*

    ALSO YES BROOKLYN NINE-NINE IS A GIFT. I need to watch the next season though. And I don’t think we have Chipolte in Australia but I’m honestly not sure. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU CAIT. omg yeah I have the WORST memory it’s kind of terrible. like did I read this book two years ago or this year? I Do Not Know.

      PLEASE WATCH THE NEXT SEASON OF B99 ITS A BLESSING AND A CURSE SIMULTANEOUSLY. wait I can’t believe that you don’t have Chipotle in AUS. *gasp* (but then again at least you don’t have our president ksjskdjsjjd)

      Like

  3. —you’re just……. so so valid I can’t handle this
    —MY BLOG RECAPS ARE NOW THE ONLY WAY I KNOW WHAT’S HAPPENING IN MY LIFE when I did that whole year recap I realized I’d forgotten about Every Thing That Had Happened In My Entire Life
    —p o k e b o w l s
    —i cannot actually believe your PFP is from THIS YEAR that’s IMPOSSIBLE
    —WE NEED TO DO A SECRET SANTA THING AT SOME POINT IN THE MAY + ME + U + MEL GC I???

    Liked by 2 people

      1. POKE BOWLS ARE IN ORDER

        okay also that is definitely the kindest thing anyone has ever said and I GOT BUSY OVER CHRISTMAS AND DID NO GIFT GIVING so this year I’m doing birthday gifts ?? 🤭🤭

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey! I love this recap. I never thought of doing one of these myself. It seems like such a great way to capture all the things that happen in a year! I always end up forgetting because I have a terrible memory.

    I am the worst at saying I am going to post more and than slowly fade from existence. It is seriously a curse. I am afraid to say those words anymore lol! I fell off the face of the earth in October and only reemerged this month so I GET YOU! I can’t wait to see how amazing your 2019 is!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH! ❤ You should totally create small recaps of every month! I base them off of my monthly recaps ❤

      Also sjdkj yeah omg I… just am not Good at following through with my promises to post regularly? But I'M TRYING TO? I REALLY HOPE THAT I CAN DO IT IN 2019!! ❤

      Like

Leave a comment